Non-formal learning: literature review

Original post 18/12/06

At the heart of what I am currently interested in is the definition space of learning as represented by the “parameter of fomality”. Namely classifying learning as formal, informal or non-formal or some combination of all three. I blogged on this recently.

Colley, Hodkinson and Malcolm (2002) produced a review of this landscape – very helpful! What is missing though is the extension to school-age students per se – this is where my work should sit.

Update (14/01/07): I have now found this 2003 (?) Futurelab literature review of informal learning with technology outside school.

One Response to Non-formal learning: literature review

  1. Gina says:

    Hey Pete – I’m really glad you are starting your Phd in earnest! I’m about to log off and go away for the holidays and just wanted to encourage you. I’ll be keen to engage in some good debate when I get back as I have to finish my MA dissertation – yes I’m still doing it 🙂

    Happy holidays!

Leave a Reply

